Moderator: Community Manager
[Post Reply] [*]  Page 1 of 3  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 »
Jellicoe
Post subject: HMS Galatea (1891)Posted: August 24th, 2015, 2:16 pm
Well, here goes. I have opened a Photobucket account and this is my first attempt at an upload to the forum. I don't think that any drawing accreditations are required here but I would give a mention to Darth Panda because I used his colour renderings. Thanks also to those who answered my introductory post, particularly with regards to uploading (actually, that remains to be seen).

Galatea was an Orlando class belted cruiser built in 1885. Despite having an impressively powerful armament of 9.2-inch, 6-inch and 6 torpedo tubes, they were not a successful class. They were turned out hugely overweight; the tops of their armour belts sat two feet below the water-line where they were next to useless.

So, Galatea goes into the bear-pit for peer review. As my first effort, it would be a resounding success if she appears in this post! I am more concerned about compliance with Shipbucket protocols than anything else so comments in that regard will be especially welcome.

Ladies and gentlemen, she's all yours!

[ img ]

Last edited by Jellicoe on August 24th, 2015, 3:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

[Profile] [Quote]
Jellicoe
Post subject: Re: HMS Galatea (1891)Posted: August 24th, 2015, 2:19 pm
Well, that didn't work too well, did it? You shouldn't have to click on a link to see the image. What is it that everybody else is doing and I am not?

[Profile] [Quote]
Rowdy36
Post subject: Re: HMS Galatea (1891)Posted: August 24th, 2015, 3:06 pm
Looks like an excellent first effort! :)
Regarding Shipbucket protocols the only thing I can see is that there are some double black lines in the masts - try to avoid these if at all possible, even if it means sacrificing some accuracy (ie. it would make the masts appear thicker in the drawing than in real life).