Moderator: Community Manager
[Post Reply] [*]  Page 1 of 3  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 »
Lokust
Post subject: A Belgian AUPosted: September 10th, 2014, 6:09 am
This is my first try here in Shipbucket, hope you like it!

HISTORY OF THE BELGIAN NAVY (after WW2)

The harsh lessons of World War II made national defense one of Belgium's top priority. Having a weak naval force, pre-WWII Belgium was virtually unable to protect it's coastlines and it's trade lanes. Without a capable navy, the Belgian maritime trade industry suffered greatly from the pains of the war.

On 1 June 1946, Section Navale was renamed Force Navale, by analogy with Force Terrestre (Army) and Force Aérienne (Air Force). It was considered unappropriate to revive the former name Marine Royale, because the Royal question was controversial at that time.

On 15 June 1946, the regent Charles (King Léopold III was still living in exile in Switzerland) gave the Belgian seamen a standard designed on the model of the regimental flags of the Army. The standard should be used only for ceremonial purposes on land. It was a Belgian Tricolore with the mention of all the battles during which the seamen won fame. The standard (77 x 88 cm) was charged in canton with the Medal of War Cross 1939-1945 with palm.

On 25 February 1949, the Navy was incorporated into the Armed Forces, under the rule of the Ministry of Defence, ending 120 years of hesitation between different ministeries. On 23 February 1950, the Force Navale received its own ensign, clearly different from the national, state and civil ensigns as well from the yacht ensign.

In the post-war years, Belgium joined NATO in 1948. As a result, Belgium received large amounts of material and financing through the Marshall Plan. Furthermore, several ships were purchased from the British and a number of vessels were transferred from the now disarmed German navy.