Moderator: Community Manager
[Post Reply] [*]  Page 1 of 11  [ 101 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 511 »
Author Message
Kiwi Imperialist
Post subject: Second World War Aircraft Carrier ChallengePosted: June 17th, 2020, 12:07 pm
Online
Posts: 64
Joined: December 10th, 2014, 9:38 am
Welcome to the Second World War aircraft carrier challenge. Participants are asked to draw a fictional aircraft carrier that would have been in active service at some point between 1 September 1939 and 2 September 1945. It could belong to a great power, a neutral nation, or a country in an alternate universe where there is no conflict comparable to the Second World War. Due to the complexity and size of an aircraft carrier, this challenge will run for two months instead of one. A mini-challenge will be announced after the first month for those not interested in drawing an aircraft carrier. This will be less labour-intensive than a normal challenge, so that those still working on an aircraft carrier may participate. Please read the challenge rules relating to submissions and drawings.

Design Requirements
  1. Your submission must depict an aircraft carrier. That is, a ship designed to launch and recover aircraft.
  2. At least one image should show the aircraft carrier as it appeared in active service between 1 September 1939 and 2 September 1945.
  3. The aircraft carrier should have at least one flight deck capable of launching and recovering aircraft.

Challenge Rules
  1. Each participant may submit one or two images.
  2. The image should be a Shipbucket template modified to include the participant’s art. Templates which include a data sheet are allowed.
  3. One right-facing side view of the participant's ship must be included in each image. Three other views of the same ship at the same point in time are allowed in the same image.
  4. A textual description accompanying each submission is allowed, but not necessary.
  5. Off-topic posts will be reported to the relevant authorities.
  6. All art should be in Shipbucket scale.

This challenge will run until the 15th of August, ending at 23:59 UTC-12 (International Date Line West).
A countdown timer can be found at this link. Alternatively, find out the time and date in your time zone at the bottom of this post.

A poll will be held after this date. Members of the Shipbucket community will have an opportunity to score, on a scale of 1 to 10, each submission in three categories. Veterans of past challenges will note that one category is missing. We have removed 'suitability' in an effort to improve the system. These changes are provisional and different categories may appear before the end of the challenge. If you have any suggestions, feel free to post them here. The current categories are as follows:

  • Drawing Quality - The overall quality of the drawing. One might consider detailing, shading, and accuracy.
  • Design Realism - How realistic is the design presented? Any accompanying text may be considered.
  • Originality - Does the submission present a new and unique design, or is it a copy of an existing one?

Please attempt to provide an honest evaluation of each participant's submission. Some people put a lot of effort into these challenges, so avoid using a 1 when a higher score is more appropriate. Poll responses which favour a small group of entries with maximum scores in all categories and provide minimum scores to all other entries will be excluded from the final results.

[ img ]

When does this challenge end in my timezone?
UTC-12: August 15, 23:59 (Official Deadline)
UTC-11: August 16, 00:59
UTC-10: August 16, 01:59 (Hawaii Standard Time)
UTC-9: August 16, 02:59
UTC-8: August 16, 03:59 (Pacific Standard Time)
UTC-7: August 16, 04:59 (Mountain Standard Time)
UTC-6: August 16, 05:59 (Central Standard Time)
UTC-5: August 16, 06:59 (Eastern Standard Time)
UTC-4: August 16, 07:59 (Atlantic Standard Time)
UTC-3: August 16, 08:59
UTC-2: August 16, 09:59
UTC-1: August 16, 10:59
UTC: August 16, 11:59 (Greenwhich Mean Time)
UTC+1: August 16, 12:59 (Central European Time)
UTC+2: August 16, 13:59 (Central European Summer Time)
UTC+3: August 16, 14:59
UTC+4: August 16, 15:59
UTC+5: August 16, 16:59
UTC+6: August 16, 17:59
UTC+7: August 16, 18:59
UTC+8: August 16, 19:59 (Australian Western Standard Time)
UTC+9: August 16, 20:59
UTC+10: August 16, 21:59 (Australian Eastern Standard Time)
UTC+11: August 16, 22:59
UTC+12: August 16, 23:59 (New Zealand)
UTC+13: August 17, 00:59
UTC+14: August 17, 01:59 (Line Islands)


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Gollevainen
Post subject: Re: Second World War Aircraft Carrier ChallengePosted: June 17th, 2020, 3:45 pm
Offline
User avatar
Posts: 4431
Joined: July 27th, 2010, 5:10 am
Location: Finland
Contact: Website
Now this what I call a true challenge! Are you fellow bucketteers ready? 8-)

_________________
Coming next: L/M Moskva, some research ships, pr.26bis, Pr.1144 remakes and Project 1143 complete redux.



Shipbucket mainsite, aka "The Archive"
Submit your drawings to the archive here
Far Eastern AU wiki


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
The_Sprinklez
Post subject: Re: Second World War Aircraft Carrier ChallengePosted: June 17th, 2020, 4:28 pm
Offline
User avatar
Posts: 70
Joined: October 6th, 2018, 2:13 pm
Location: United States
Contact: Website
Gollevainen wrote: *
Are you fellow bucketteers ready? 8-)
Not in the slightest, but that won’t stop me from trying! :lol:

_________________
Andrew, The_Sprinklez/etccommand
I strive for a balance of accuracy and style, so please make recommendations or point out errors in either of those areas in a polite and concise manner. I will make the necessary changes when I am able.
Please check out my DeviantArt for military uniforms and Non-SB art at etccommand.deviantart.com and my uniformology/Alternate-Universe DeviantArt group at https://www.deviantart.com/alternate-pixels or https://discord.gg/Tqy5PHD.


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
superboy
Post subject: Re: Second World War Aircraft Carrier ChallengePosted: June 18th, 2020, 10:36 am
Offline
User avatar
Posts: 530
Joined: July 5th, 2013, 7:09 am
Location: Thailand
Contact: Website
excited :o


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
CaptainPaulov
Post subject: Re: Second World War Aircraft Carrier ChallengePosted: June 18th, 2020, 12:28 pm
Offline
Posts: 39
Joined: May 7th, 2017, 2:25 pm
Location: Radioactive Dumpster
Contact: Website
This is exciting! I'm very much looking forwards to the entries.

_________________
Current projects in work order:
- Personal Project: Modern Soviet Ocean Liner.
- Never Built Project: "Battleship of the Future", Popular Mechanics, September 1940.

Updates at my DeviantArt.


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Hood
Post subject: Re: Second World War Aircraft Carrier ChallengePosted: June 20th, 2020, 9:08 am
Offline
Posts: 6461
Joined: July 31st, 2010, 10:07 am
Ready and already cooking up something.

_________________
Hood's Worklist
English Electric Canberra FD
Interwar RN Capital Ships
Super-Darings
Never-Were British Aircraft


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
emperor_andreas
Post subject: Re: Second World War Aircraft Carrier ChallengePosted: June 20th, 2020, 10:23 pm
Offline
Posts: 3469
Joined: November 17th, 2010, 8:03 am
Location: Corinth, MS USA
Contact: Website, Skype, YouTube
Can't wait to see what everyone comes up with!

_________________
[ img ]
MS State Guard - 08 March 2014 - present

The Official IJN Ships & Planes List


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Kamikazi
Post subject: Re: Second World War Aircraft Carrier ChallengePosted: June 22nd, 2020, 10:54 pm
Offline
Posts: 17
Joined: November 16th, 2010, 8:22 pm
Please oh please, someone do a Study C-2.


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Gollevainen
Post subject: Re: Second World War Aircraft Carrier ChallengePosted: July 5th, 2020, 11:21 am
Offline
User avatar
Posts: 4431
Joined: July 27th, 2010, 5:10 am
Location: Finland
Contact: Website
"....Tähän on tultu, tämä on loppu, Vladivostok!"

[ img ]

AV 1939 g class was Far Eastern Republic's definite carrier in WWII and Vladivostok herself served as the flagship of the "Light Squadron" during the cruisal battles in 1943 and 44 which determined the outcome of the whole war for Far Easterns victory.

Design was based on the earlier AV 1937 g but with enchanged air capacity. Like its predeccors, AV 1939 g had armoured flight deck which served as the strenght deck of hull. Hangarsides were only lightly armoured, a compromise forced to retain stability for the benefit of larger airgroup. Original armament fit included the new 130mm/45 KO 1939 g DP guns fitted in the flight deck fore and aft of the bridge and 8 quad 37mm AA guns in armoured turrets. In later war service, various numbers of single and twin 37mm guns were fitted as well.

Displacement: 37,000t standard; 46,000t full load
Dimensions:258.9m x 32 m (38.1m flight deck) x 9.6m
Machinery: 8 boilers, 4 turbines, 4 shafts, 160,000 shp
Speed: 31 kts
Range: 9,000 nmi at 18 kts
Armour:Belt: 100 mm, Flight deck: 25-100mm, Deck: 25mm
Armament: 4x2 130mm/45 KO 1939 g DP, 8x4 37mm/64 KO 1936/41 g, 24 23mm/60 K0 1931 g
Avitation: 82 aircraft total with deckpark included

_________________
Coming next: L/M Moskva, some research ships, pr.26bis, Pr.1144 remakes and Project 1143 complete redux.



Shipbucket mainsite, aka "The Archive"
Submit your drawings to the archive here
Far Eastern AU wiki


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Rhade
Post subject: Re: Second World War Aircraft Carrier ChallengePosted: July 5th, 2020, 2:20 pm
Offline
User avatar
Posts: 2739
Joined: July 27th, 2010, 12:45 pm
Location: Poland
What type, models of planes it would carry?

_________________
[ img ]
Nobody expects the Imperial Inquisition!


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Display: Sort by: Direction:
[Post Reply]  Page 1 of 11  [ 101 posts ]  Return to “Personal Designs” | Go to page 1 2 3 4 511 »

Jump to: 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kiwi Imperialist and 6 guests


The team | Delete all board cookies | All times are UTC


cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
[ GZIP: Off ]