Moderator: Community Manager
[Post Reply] [*]  Page 1 of 2  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 »
Obsydian Shade
Post subject: First freehand drawing--very WIPish.Posted: May 27th, 2011, 7:31 am
[ img ]

With the Pallamaran AU to soon wrap up for a time, I decided to try my hand at drawing a design from scratch as a learning exercise. I chose a turretship based on the Chinese Zhenyuang design, with some of my own modifications, though this is certainly not intended to depict that vessel.

I'm basing the turrets off those on HMS Inflexible, though they may well be too large for this layout of vessel, but that explains the relative size--I may change the layout of them and go for large, dome-like ones. Any constructive criticism will be appreciated, as this is my first attempt at freehand.

If it's close enough to cast a shadow, I think the flying house wins initiative.

Bronies are like the Forsworn. Everyone agrees that they are a problem but nobody wants to expend the energy rooting them out.

"That is a very graphic analogy which aids understanding wonderfully while being, strictly speaking, wrong in every possible way."

[Profile] [Quote]
Thiel
Post subject: Re: First freehand drawing--very WIPish.Posted: May 27th, 2011, 7:40 am
There's not a lot to work with here, however the turrets(?) on the ends won't work. In the stern you have the steering gear right underneath it, in the bow you have chain lockers and other stuff right underneath it, and unless the hull is tanker like full there won't be enough volume ven without the anchor gear.

Worklist

Source Materiel is always welcome.

[Profile] [Quote]
Obsydian Shade
Post subject: Re: First freehand drawing--very WIPish.Posted: May 27th, 2011, 8:05 am
[ img ]

[ img ]

This is what I'm working from, which clearly shows the turrets on the extreme ends, I suspect that's made possible by the fact these aren't like later turrets that had barbettes underneath them.