Moderator: Community Manager
[Post Reply] [*]  Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 »
KillerGuppi
Post subject: First Drawing: Vidar class MinelayerPosted: June 23rd, 2011, 5:54 pm
Okay, so this is my first attempt on drawing a Shipbucket scale ship. It is the Vidar class Minelayers of the Royal Norwegian navy.
Keep in mind that there are not so many pictures or of this ship and that it is drawn with the help of about 5 different pictures that are VERY small. Anyways, i am note sure if i nailed the shading or if the picture got uploadded properly( :? ), but i guess you will let me know if i did something wrong. :)

[ img ]

(edited)

Last edited by KillerGuppi on June 23rd, 2011, 7:00 pm, edited 4 times in total.

[Profile] [Quote]
Portsmouth Bill
Post subject: Re: First Drawing: Vidar class MinelayerPosted: June 23rd, 2011, 6:09 pm
Really nice KillerGuppi :) The only points I'd querie is the ships numbering - it looks a bit odd, and the shading under the bridge is too wide (in pixel terms). But if this is a first posting I stand in admiration for the result!

[Profile] [Quote]
acelanceloet
Post subject: Re: First Drawing: Vidar class MinelayerPosted: June 23rd, 2011, 6:11 pm
PB noted the points I wanted to note, so I can only say: good work, and welcome to the bucket. btw, the mast looks kinda empty, isn't there more equipment over there?

[Profile] [Quote]
KillerGuppi
Post subject: Re: First Drawing: Vidar class MinelayerPosted: June 23rd, 2011, 6:39 pm
Edited the drawing: Made the shading underneath the bridge 1 pixel thinner, changed the pennant, i also added some things to the mast, but in reality it is kinda bland...

Thank you for your comments and kind words. :)

[Profile] [Quote]
acelanceloet
Post subject: Re: First Drawing: Vidar class MinelayerPosted: June 23rd, 2011, 6:41 pm
it looks very good now, apart from the shading: shipbucket standard is one pixel shading. 2-toned shading is allowed though. both are described here: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=16