Moderator: Community Manager
[Post Reply] [*]  Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 »
theminer220
Post subject: Fishing boat for a possible AUPosted: May 31st, 2015, 2:47 pm
While I have created ships before on other programs, and have been a lurker on the forums for the past couple of months, I am not really experienced when it comes to drawing on Shipbucket. Here's an idea I had for some sort of '50s trawler that would be used for a small AU coast guard during the Cold War.
[ img ]
Sorry that the shading (as well as other parts) is probably incorrect.

Last edited by theminer220 on May 31st, 2015, 5:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

[Profile] [Quote]
Skyder2598
Post subject: Re: Fishing boat for a possible AUPosted: May 31st, 2015, 3:41 pm
nice start like the shape of the boat ;-)
Maybe the bridge is a bit to low, i would increase the high a bit

~~Normerr~~FD stuff~~

[Profile] [Quote]
theminer220
Post subject: Re: Fishing boat for a possible AUPosted: May 31st, 2015, 3:43 pm
Thanks, and good idea.

[Profile] [Quote]
JSB
Post subject: Re: Fishing boat for a possible AUPosted: May 31st, 2015, 4:40 pm
Welcome :D

Nice small ship (maybe a tiny bit to small for 1950s warship ?) and if its not a warship then some colouring would be very nice (and make the deck/funnel stand out).

I agree with making bridge stand up a bit (and giving a flat rear deck for a MG later with a raised funnel)
As a CG ship I would fit 1 x 40mm (on bow move mast back to make it fit and 2 MGs on bridge side/rear deck)
Fit it with a small boat (maybe side ways on top of cargo deck ?)

Looking forward to more.

ADD
Just to add size wise,
- Flower-class corvette have a Length of 205 ft.
-1950s Ross Tiger, a traditional side-winder fishing trawler Length has a length of 127.6 ft.
- Isles-class trawlers 164 ft (50 m)

In WW1 There were two basic types of Admiralty-built drifters, wooden hulled and steel hulled.