Moderator: Community Manager
[Post Reply] [*]  Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 
Hole in the ground
Post subject: Fighter Direction TendersPosted: September 28th, 2015, 8:27 pm
Greetings,

I am brand new to this and wanted to start relatively simply by modifying an LST into an FDT as used by the UK during OVERLORD. Below is a picture of FDT 217, the 3rd of 3 FDTs.

[ img ]

The ships were modified by the addition of 2 sets of Ground Control Intercept radars, sufficient radios and antenas and a slightly modified superstructure and AA armament.

So, noob question time, I've had a look through the forums for FAQs etc but just so I am perfectly clear.

I would basically like to whole sale use the LST already created, is that ok? Obviously I will credit the author (it'll still mainly be their effort after I've modded it).

Less noob question - the radar sets used are AMES 11 & 15. I have found very few pictures and no drawings/dimensions for these. So does anyone have any dimensions for these radar sets? I noticed that the parts list has several British RN radar sets but these ones are RAF.

Thanks for looking

[Profile] [Quote]
Krakatoa
Post subject: Re: Fighter Direction TendersPosted: September 28th, 2015, 9:43 pm
Welcome HITG, that is an interesting first subject to choose, good luck with how it comes out.

As long as you credit the original author, I do not think they will have any problems with you producing these FDT's from the base unit.

I will leave it to those who have the technical manuals to provide you with the radar answers.

[Profile] [Quote]
Novice
Post subject: Re: Fighter Direction TendersPosted: September 28th, 2015, 10:32 pm
Welcome aboard HITG
The use of a previously drawn ship is allowed, provided that you put your nameafter the original artist's name. That means that the credit line should show two (at least) names with yours coming last.