Moderator: Community Manager
[Post Reply] [*]  Page 1 of 1  [ 3 posts ] 
danricco
Post subject: Help from norwegian membersPosted: October 15th, 2022, 3:07 am
Hello guys, a I need a small help from norwegian members.

I'm a master degree student and, in january, I'm going to Norway in a exchange program 'til june at the UiT. Besides this being already something really big and great, this is even more important to me because my thesis is about whaling. This being said, now a need some help.

I need to know what are the most important whaling ports today? I want to try to interview some whalers and I wasn't able to found any reliable tip about this. What I already found is based on unreliable data acquired via concentration of photos on Shipspoting.com and trying to track down the ships on MarineTraffic, without very much success.

Thanks!
Danilo

[Profile] [Quote]
heuhen
Post subject: Re: Help from norwegian membersPosted: October 15th, 2022, 12:20 pm
It's quite hard to find anything on whaling in Norway "it's easier to find a girlfriend on the North-pole!"

Joke aside.

Whaling in Norway is extremely low, around 10 ships (it was registrated 10 ships in 2019). Island used to have whale boats in their piers, occasionally but it's rare. They are close to Impossible to find now in Norway. Heck you are lucky if you manage to find whale meat in any food store in Norway, in my 34 years, I have only seen 1 whale boat and 4 boxes with whale meat in food stores and I have lived everywhere from Northern Norway, to the south Norway. Even for me as an Norwegian have no idea where they are, but they are most likely in Northern part of Norway. (if you are extremely lucky, a whale boat might come in to Alta)

Most whaling boats have been rebuild into normal fishing vessel

But check library, museums, etc. they will have a lot of information. for example the maritime museum in Bergen have a library, then there is the fishing museum in Bergen as well.